ME … In The Mirror


I’ve found ‘ME’ in the mirror again after 6 years of being a grieving mother … I think Tommy is smiling from above just like the sunshine. By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photos of ME … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee on March 04, 2017 … in the mirror.  I have found ‘ME’ again.  March 04, 2017 … Saturday

 

 

 

I recognize the woman in the photos above … that’s ME!  I am so happy to see me once again.  I never thought I would.  I have taken the pieces left of a grieving mother … put them together again … and … here I am 🙂  Just like … Humpty Dumpty … all the pieces are put together again.  Now … I just need to polish me up here, there.

 

 

Of course, I am older … my skin isn’t as young as it used to be.  My face shows lines, age.  I have weathered many, many storms most people never experience in several lifetimes. I have been toppled over by the high winds of Life … knocked down by the bolts of pure shock over and over … my tears have been more than an ocean-full.

 

 

When you think of ‘Me’ … see ‘Me’ … remember when you look at me … I’m all the pieces you see put back together again.  Think of a Redwood Tree … beaten, whipped by all the past storms … I am what is left standing with all my invisible battle scars.  I managed to stand through all the hellacious storms that have come my way.

 

 

I am like a Redwood Tree … I’m still standing.  If you just knew … you would never believe what this ‘tree’ has survived.  You would be utterly amazed.  When I look back to the little child I was at one time until now … it’s a wonder I lived with the things inflicted upon me … little girl have died never getting to live with their secrets.  I am fortunate.

 

 

So when you look at me … see my life battle scars … the years gone by on my face … my body … just know this is all I’ve got left now … and I’m doing the best I can to pick up all my pieces … put me back together again.  It doesn’t matter if no one else likes how I look now … what does matter is I can accept me now … I can recognize the person I was before I was beaten down to nothing from the storm of grief I survived.

 

 

I’m so happy with me today … I’m so happy to see ME in my mirror again.

 

 

 

Note by this Author:

 

I can’t tell you how true all my words above are.  I can’t tell you the happiness I’m finding in looking like a human being again … looking like someone I know in the mirror again.

 

 

One of the most awful things in life is looking in the mirror and … seeing a stranger.  It’s really scary … to live inside of a stranger you don’t know looking back at you.  Does that sound strange?

 

 

Just think how it would feel. I have looked for so long … now … I have found Me.  I’m older and not as pretty, youthful as I once was … I don’t care … I’ll take what’s left now 🙂

 

 

Photos/true story owned/written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

One thought on “ME … In The Mirror

Leave a Reply

