The Girl and Her Dog


The Girl and Her Dog

 

 

848e9-my2bphotos2b4-10-20132b035

Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

 
I was sitting at my desk
When movement caught my eye
I looked out my glass door
Saw a girl and her dog

 

 

 

She was walking in her yard
With her beautiful Rottie
She held her umbrella over her head
She was dressed in black

 

 

 

Her umbrella was black … gray
The Rottie’s collar was pink
The girl kicked a pine cone toward her dog
As the pine cone flew in the air

 

 

 

The Rottie jumped to grab it in the air
I sat at my desk looking out my glass door
Smiled as I watched the both of them
I was looking into their world while sitting at home

 

 

 

What a beautiful picture they made
It wasn’t only the picture they made … it was
The pure love a girl has for her dog
Pure love a dog has for its most important person

 

 

 

The rain came down harder
I had begun typing what I saw
Looked up … the girl and her dog was gone
They’d given me a glimpse of pure love

 

 

 

As I sat at my desk looking out my glass door
I looked out the glass door once more
Yes, they are gone back into the house
To live their life while I sit here … write, live mine

 

 

 

Note by this Author:

 

 

 
I sat here at my desk this morning … looked out the glass door to see my neighbor walking with her dog in the rain. She is more than my neighbor … her dog is more than just my ‘neighbor’s dog’.

 

 

 
The girl is one of our closest friends … her dog is one who is a part of our everyday life … we visit her each day, keep an eye on their home … bring her outside for a while while the girl works. We love them as if they were close family. We love the girl and her dog … the one walking with a black/gray umbrella and the dog with a pink collar.

 

 

Photo is of Kissy Fairchild …. our beautiful, sweet Rottie.  Photos owned by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

 

 

 
Poem dedicated to Chelsea King and Angel King. Owned, written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

One thought on “The Girl and Her Dog

Leave a Reply

