I Wanted To Hug All The Sounds Around Me …


I Wanted To Hug All The Sounds Around Me …

Written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

I had to write words to what I felt as I walked … silly words that made a song inside my head. By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

Walking my dog in the meadow surrounded by trees

Listening to the sounds around me

I felt … I wanted to hug them all except … one

My Dukester ran here … there … to sniff

I could hear his soft chuffing as he ran

Butterflies chased him as he went

I could hear a big bullfrog calling

Calling for who I don’t know

Maybe his mama, girlfriend .. I don’t know who

Birds whistled, sang their songs over my head

Flew all around to sit on limbs … fly away

Something tells me they have babies around

Ur … Ur.. Ur-rrrrr I could hear a rooster, too

I wonder if it was a chicken instead

Do roosters crow during the day?

I stood still for a moment to hear a quiet sound

It was the wind … I could feel it on my face

I wanted to hug it all … the wind too

A dragonfly flew close to my face

Did it look at me to see who I was?

Could it have been Tommy … looking for his mommy?

In the distance, I heard the sound of a chainsaw

I had been thinking I wanted to hug the sounds around me

Except for the chainsaw … I’d rather hear it in the distance

I stood with my eyes closed … I hugged all the sounds around me

Except for the chainsaw … I hugged them with my Heart

I love those sounds … it means the world around me … is alive

 

 

Note by this Author:

Some silly words that came to me as I walked The Dukester this morning … I don’t sing … yet I was walking singing … ‘I want to hug the sounds all around me’.  Isn’t that funny?  🙂

Written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee. Photo of The Dukester … our rescued Pit Bull dog owned by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

One thought on “I Wanted To Hug All The Sounds Around Me …

Leave a Reply

