I Had Forgotten They Existed


Strange how so much life goes on around me … I didn’t see, hear it for focusing on Skip … for the past 5 months I’ve lived in fear for him. Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee



Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee … as a younger woman.  Sitting and thinking ……………

 

 

I have been sitting quietly … sensing, feeling out my world around me … by listening, seeing.  I can hardly believe all is calm … when the past 5 months have been in such turmoil.

 

For the moment, my mind feels at peace.  Gracious, what a nice feeling … I had forgotten how it felt.  It’s strange when one’s life is in turmoil … they focus only on what’s at hand.  No time to relax, feel at ease … only a driving fear.  At least … for me, that’s how it’s been.

 

It sure feels good to feel good.  I got to do something yesterday I didn’t get to think I would do … play in some garden soil.  I added beautiful, black soil to the several potted plants on the porch, and to one big cherry tomato plant I have.  It sounds like nothing, I know … to me, it felt wonderful to stop … ‘smell the roses’ so to speak.

 

My hands were dirty … my skin warm from the sunshine … the breeze felt good.  My mind was at peace while listening to the birds, the distant drone of an airplane … someone mowing grass … I even heard children squeal in laughter.  These are happy sounds … I had forgotten they existed.  Isn’t that amazing?

 

 

Note by this Author:

 

Photo/true story by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter.

 

This morning I am sitting … thinking about how much I have to be grateful for … I don’t think a day goes by without me feeling grateful for all in my life.  No matter how bad it got … good things happened.

One thought on “I Had Forgotten They Existed

Leave a Reply

