It’s Just How It Affects … Me


It’s Just How It Affects … Me

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

 

Photo is of clean drinking glasses … sparkling clean glasses that shine like diamonds!  I love to drink from them!  Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee (Photo Credit is mine)…

 

A little girl’s chubby hand stretches up to open the old kitchen cabinet door. She tried not to touch the cabinet … it had stains on it; she didn’t want to get anything on her.

The old kitchen cabinet was a dirty white … but, so … beautiful white when it was washed down. Now … it was filthy. The glass windows were smudged where a blind man’s hand would reach for a door.

Inside the cabinet were dishes, glasses. The little girl wanted a glass. She was thirsty … her stomach was in her throat! She began panicking … please don’t let one get me!

She saw the bugs crawling around inside the cabinet. She was afraid … every time! A bug would fall on her, down her sleeve or the neck of her dress! She would scream, cry … jump up and down!

The glasses were hard to see through, had a funny smell. The little girl rinsed it out … as well as she could. She tried to put ‘just barely’ her lips to the rim … to drink

She stood there as an older woman … looking into the warm, soapy suds. She used the sudsy sponge to wash her glasses until they were shining … spotless. Not a smudge, stain was left on a glass. She held each by her fingertips, to put in the dish-drainer.

She held the last glass up to the light of the kitchen window … smiled. It was so beautiful … clean; just the way she liked them! She put it in the dish-drainer to dry naturally.

Glasses … shiny, clean glasses without smudges, stains … were like diamonds. Hold them up to the light … they would sparkle with their own light!

I love clean glasses to drink from … I love to hold them to the light to see the sparkle … I, also, do that with my rings. I want my glasses as shiny as the diamonds in them. Drinking from a dirty glass as a child … ‘did something to me’.

If I see someone drinking from a glass with greasy hands, leaving smudges on their glass … I have to look away. I am always so careful to not get anything on my glass, when drinking.

Sometimes, I see people get food on the rim, or inside their glasses. I can’t help it … it bothers me. Yes, I know we all aren’t perfect … I honestly … am so far from perfect … it’s pathetic. It’s just how it affects me.

 

 

Photo Credit/Story Credit … both are owned by me, Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka #Granny Gee

 

1 thought on “It’s Just How It Affects … Me

Leave a comment