Happy Birthday, Son… I Miss You, Tommy


 

Happy Birthday, Son… I Miss You, Tommy

 

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

November 20, 1969… Thursday morning at 11:28 am a little baby was born.  He weighed 8 lbs. 4 1/2 oz.  He was 21 inches long.

 

This little baby had a lot of blonde hair.  He was perfect, beautiful.  Tommy was born… my son, my only child was born.

 

May 29, 2010…. on a Saturday evening at Myrtle Beach, he collapsed on the beach, died.  He was playing with his little three year old son for the first, and last time.

 

November 20, 2012… Tommy would have been 43 years old today had he lived.

 

I miss you, Son.  Your mama loves you.  I miss you, Tommy.

16 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Son… I Miss You, Tommy

  1. My heart goes out to you at this extremely difficult time. I am so sorry that you had to endure what must be the worst loss anyone could face. I know there are no words which can magically change anything but there are those, like myself, out here that understand what you are going through and am amazed by your strength. May God give you strength.

  2. Gloria, Tommy is here still … in memories and thoughts – happy and sad .. in smiles and tears.
    He will always be alive, because of your love, your heart and your soul.

  3. A Mother endures pain from the beginning, commencing with childbirth and it continues through the life of their child with every scraped knee, broken heart or disappointment. The pain of losing that child however, is undeniably the worst of them all. I hope the memories of Tommy bring you some comfort in this time, Gloria.

  4. I’m so sorry for you and your family Gloria! That must have been awful to lose your son. I hope you have someone to talk to. I think you’re doing a good thing, namely to write about it, that’s one thing one can do, to get it out. Love and hugs to you!

  5. Pingback: Granny Gee’s Little Boy… Photos Of When I Once Had A Young Son | GRANNY'S COLORFUL

Leave a Reply

