No Longer a Part of This Life …


No Longer a Part of This Life

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/aka @GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

She stood watching from a safe distance

As the big, black birds gathered, danced around

What was she thinking as she watched her baby

Being taken away, piece by piece … peck by peck

Swallowed into stomachs of the big, black birds

I felt grief for her … she is bound to feel pain

Someone hit her little baby, a fawn with white spots

It lay on the hot, hot road

Its little soft, brown eyes stared into the blue sky above

No pain … thankfully it never knew what happened

The big, black birds were only doing what they always do

Whether we like it or not … it’s the way of life

Animals die every day … by accident or careless drivers

The big, black birds come to eat … to survive

They come, never knowing they are cleaning up death

Never knowing they are helping man

In a short time, the little fawn’s body was gone

Leaving only a tiny bit of fur, flesh on the road

She turned … walked into the forest alone

She didn’t have a baby any more

Heart breaking, I turned my head … grief, pain in my Heart

I had seen this mother and her fawn several times

Saying little prayers asking protection for them

Sometimes, for whatever reason our prayers aren’t answered

Big, black birds came to feed

Doing only what they always do

They aren’t aware of pain associated with death

Big, black birds eat to survive … it’s part of the food chain

I drove up the road … thoughts of the mother doe in my mind

Thoughts of the big, black birds and the food chain of life

Mother doe standing there … watching big, black birds

Helpless to stop Mother Nature

Life is beautiful as well as ugly

You can’t have one without the other

Big, black birds flew into the sky, stomachs full

Baby fawn no longer a part of this life

 

 

 

Note by this Author:

The little fawn with white spots died just a short ways from where we live.  It broke my Heart … did someone hit it by accident, or did they deliberately hit it … were they driving too fast?

None of these questions will be answered.  Doesn’t matter now.  The mother doe is in the woods somewhere … she doesn’t have a child any more.  I understand … I don’t have a child any more.  Isn’t life so sad … as well, as so happy, wonderful?

Tears fall from my eyes as I write this … my Heart is full of pain over a tiny little forest creature no one is aware of.  It’s little body disappeared … that fast … big black birds came to eat in death what couldn’t be eaten in life.  It’s the way it is.  Life and Death and the food chain.

I’m not sure you could describe that as ugly.  The big black birds were only doing what they were born to do.  It’s just a part of life no one talks about, tries not to see.

If we eat our steaks, chicken, pork … are we being ugly?  Or is this just a part of life … a part of the food chain?  It’s just the way life is … you nor I … can change it.  We walk around with food from death … in our stomaches just like … the black birds who came to eat.

I truly wish I’d never been brought up to eat meat from animals.  I can’t bear the thoughts of animals being slaughtered to give me food.  No matter … it’s a part of our food chain.

Photos/poem/note are written/owned by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

3 thoughts on “No Longer a Part of This Life …

  1. Momma Nature is cruel hun, but each needs to feed to survive.

    The mother will have other children, the black birds will have more chicks.

    The cycle moves on… 😦

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. Pingback: The Strongest Woman I Ever Knew … Was Paralyzed | GRANNY'S COLORFUL

Leave a comment