Can You Imagine?


Email:  gloriapaintsat@yahoo.com

Facebook.com/grannygee

 

 

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny

 

 

Can you imagine losing many family members … friends … all close to the same time?

 

Tonight … I was thinking about such.  Why?  Because I was looking on the Facebook page of my friend who died just after Tommy, my only child … died.  

 

Can you imagine … if you’ve never had a loved one to die … how grief feels?  I believe that if you imagine for several moments how it feels to lose someone you love … you will feel instant grief enough so, that you can’t bear to imagine anymore.

 

Just think how it feels … for the loss to be really true.  It’s too much to bear, isn’t it?  Just imagine … when the loss is more than one … more than ten … how about nineteen people … family, friends who died?  I know how that feels.

 

Tonight … I was grieving over my friend, Lena … who lived in Sweden.  She was diagnosed with cancer … she didn’t get to live long afterwards.  I was devastated when I learned of her death.  It happened not long after my only child, my son, Tommy … died.

 

Grief … the flow of tears from one’s eyes … down the cheeks like a river flowing over rocks.  Pain in one’s heart … from pure love, caring for someone who has gone away … forever.  It hurts … it really hurts so much you feel it in your stomach … you want to just lay down, cry.

 

Tonight … I was grieving over my friend, Lena … and for Tommy, my son.  I wanted to lay down tonight … and just cry.  

 

Now … I am feeling okay.  Why?  Because I released my grief in words … writing.  I released the pain.   I kept my promise to you to describe grief whenever I experienced it.

 

Why would I describe it to you … make a promise to do so?  Because … this way you will know what it’s like without having to really go through it.  It can help you understand others when they are sad, grieving.  Maybe you can comfort a grieving mother … someone who has lost a friend.

 

You don’t have to say a word … you can come in quietly, read … go your way.  I’m all right now.  Grief never goes away … one never knows when it will strike.  

 

Tonight … grief struck as quickly as a lightening bolt out of the sky … unexpectedly.  It struck me hard … but, I held fast … the storm’s over now.

 

When I felt the pain of grief tonight … I began writing until the pain went away.

 

 

Note by this Author:

 

Photo, true story owned, written by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

 

I began writing … the pain began ebbing away just as the waves washed ashore … ebbed back out to the sea.  

 

 

2 thoughts on “Can You Imagine?

  1. Pingback: Reflection In the Big Glass Window … | GRANNY'S COLORFUL

Leave a comment