A Sign From the Other Side


By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

(Dragonfly tattoo done by Jason Wilkins … in memory of Tommy)

 

 

The dragonfly came from nowhere to hover, fly

In front of my face, close to my eyes

I stood waiting for the sign I knew would come

From the other side … from a young man I loved

Sure enough, when I blinked … the dragonfly

Landed on my nose … his little wings became still

It sat there … looked at me … I looked at it

Tears began to roll from my eyes

The dragonfly touched a teardrop with it dainty foot

He rose from my nose … flicking the teardrop into the air

Drops from the teardrop rained on the little dragonfly

Making him shimmer, shine in the golden sunlight

My eyes saw such special beauty

I knew this dragonfly was giving me a sign from the other side

Love reflected in the sunlight as the tiny drops flew off its wings

Touching my cheeks like a child’s kiss

I knew my son had sent me a sign through a dragonfly

A special sign from the other side … I love you, mom

 

 

 

Dragonflies do strange, wonderful things whenever I see them … I know it’s Tommy sending love from the other side. Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

Note by this Author:

 

My son died 6 years ago … for 6 years I’ve noticed dragonflies do unusual things.  I know the dragonfly would be the way Tommy would communicate from the other side so, I wouldn’t be afraid.

Photo/poem owned, written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

3 thoughts on “A Sign From the Other Side

  1. Pingback: We Become a Memory as We Move On … | GRANNY'S COLORFUL

    • I am so sorry you lost three sons. I lost my only child … to your three. The grief you have suffered I can’t even imagine … just the grief from my one and only child almost destroyed me. For me, thankfully I learned to accept something so much bigger than I … Thank you for commenting. Gloria

Leave a comment