Help Me Remember Tommy … I Will Be Leaving … Sending Dragonflies In/ To Unexpected Places …


Help Me Remember Tommy … I Will Be Leaving … Sending Dragonflies In /To Unexpected Places …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

 

 

 

 

 

Photos are my own … Today’s 1st dragonfly was left in Wake Forest, North Carolina in a shopping cart … at Petsmart.  I wonder who will find it?

 

 

 

I have told you that I sometimes, sit … make dragonflies. I sit remembering Tommy as my fingers work to wrap the wire into a dragonfly shape.

Sometimes … I make fancy dragonflies with beads, stones, glass … whatever I feel I want to do. I never do it under pressure … and only when I want to.

This is between me … and my need to remember my son. I don’t ever do it for someone … my dragonflies aren’t made for someone. They are only made in memory of Tommy. I couldn’t do it … if asked for. This is too precious to me … I feel they’ll go to the right people in their own way.

Of course, I could … up and decide to send one to someone. You can send me your address … if you like … I’m not promising a dragonfly … but, I could send one. Please don’t ask for one … it has to be done … my way to remember my son.

Instead of letting the dragonflies build up … and never be seen … I have decided to ever so often … leave a dragonfly, and a note … in a public place when we are out shopping.

If someone finds it, they have the option to keep it to help me remember Tommy … or leave for the special person who wants to take, treasure it, help me remember my son.

If they want to … they can take a photo of it, and post it on my Facebook page at http://Facebook.com/grannygee If someone wants to come, be Facebook Friends … I would love it.

My email address is: gloriapaintsat@yahoo.com …. you are welcome to send your address … and I’ll put it in my special book.

I don’t promise a dragonfly … but, anything is possible. You would have to live in the United States as postage is quite expensive, now.

Today … #1 Dragonfly was left in a shopping cart in Wake Forest, North Carolina at … Petsmart. I wonder who will find it? I hope they will let me know.

I promised I’d never let my son be forgotten … I won’t as long as I am living … and when I die … I have a book published ‘I Cry For Tommy’ … that will keep his memory alive. It doesn’t make very much money at all … but, that wasn’t the purpose of my book. I don’t care if it ever does or not … I meant for Tommy to be remembered.

I loved my son, and his life meant something to me. I miss him very much … and the pain is great … but, now … I can cope with it.

I didn’t know I could survive such a loss … but, I am here, proof that one can. Everything can … be alright … it is … now. I can cry now … but, be happy with life, too. I made it! I have made it to the New Year … another year.

Tommy walked into Heaven on May 29, 2010 from the sand at Myrtle Beach. He was doing something he’d been looking so forward to doing…. playing his first time at the beach with his little 3 year old son, Taban. The sea gulls sang to him as his spirit soared … ocean waves played in the background.

Now … dragonflies will ‘fly’ from my hands to who knows where? Love in every dragonfly for my son, Tommy … when you hold it in your hands … you’ll feel a soft, special mother’s love for her son.

Who knows … you could hold one in your hands … to keep, treasure … and help me … remember Tommy. When you do, I hope you’ll let me know. Love, Gloria /aka Granny Gee

Photos/story both are owned by me, #Gloria Faye Brown Bates/ aka #grannygee

 

7 thoughts on “Help Me Remember Tommy … I Will Be Leaving … Sending Dragonflies In/ To Unexpected Places …

  1. As I am in the UK my address would be no use but I think this is a wonderful idea and if I was in the States and came across this I would feel honoured to take it home xx

  2. Pingback: My Tommy Dragonfly Became … Reality Today | GRANNY'S COLORFUL

  3. Oh I’m glad I found you. You left a comment on my blog which I think was meant for the lady who reblogged it.
    I also have a project for my daughter similar to this, the Angel Zoe Kindness Project.
    Dragonflies mean a lot to me as well, I had the parable Waterbugs and Dragonflies read out at Zoe’s funeral. Last year I received a dragonfly similar to the ones you make from a friend of a friend who makes them to remember her son by.
    We are all connected by loss. Blessings to you.

Leave a comment