It Was Another … ‘Oh My God!’ … Moment!


It Was Another … ‘Oh My God!’ … Moment!
By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

My precious Son, Tommy … Photos on a roll of film that laid around for years … unimportant ‘then …

We were talking … Skip was sitting down at his desk … I was standing beside him. His attention went to a roll of film that had been sitting on his desk, ‘forever’. I wonder what’s on this roll of film?

I had no idea what was on the roll of film. I know I’d taken the photos on it … the roll had been in the desk drawer, or up on the desk with the promise we’d get it developed. We kept forgetting this roll of film for … years.

Skip put the film canister back on the desk; we went on to forget it. How many times did we pick that little plastic canister up … wonder what was on it. I know I told Skip what I wished it would be, but … I knew it wouldn’t be. I was, of course … wishing for it to be photos of Tommy … it was impossible.

A month ago, Skip actually picked up the roll of film, put it in his pocket … took it to Walmart to have the film developed. It would be ready in two weeks. Well … we forgot the film once again … we waited much longer than two weeks to pick it up.

We had to go do some errands today … remembered the film. We stopped by Walmart to pick the photos up. I was going to walk away with the photos without looking in the packet. The woman told me to look inside … if there were any photos that didn’t take … she wouldn’t charge us for them.

I opened the packet, took the photos … and photo CD out to look at them. The first several photos weren’t good … one couldn’t see anything. I ‘knew’ the photos wouldn’t be ‘nothing’ … I looked through them, anyway …

Everything became quiet around me … oh my God … oh my God! Skip! Skip, you’ve got to look! The woman standing there became alert … what’s wrong? I couldn’t tell her … I was crying, quietly. I couldn’t look away from what I held in my hands.

Tears rolled down my face … my Heart was hurting … I couldn’t believe what I was looking at! Skip! I was holding my breath …

Skip was stunned just like I was … he was having a ‘oh my God’ moment, also. He reminded me of the wish I’d made sometime, ago.

The woman wanted to know what was affecting us that way … we told her. I saw tears in her eyes … she began to talk softly to us. It was like … so quiet … like so … special-quiet.

The photos were of … Tommy! They were taken on the day his little son, Taban … was born! The day … my only grandson was born … the grandson I will never know … today. Taban’s mother was in them just after she had Taban … her long hair was beautiful. I remembered how much I loved her …

I could still see what I remembered back then … on Tommy’s face. Fatigue … Tommy had driven his big truck hard, and long … to get to the hospital for the birth of his son. He barely made it! He parked the tractor in the parking lot of the hospital.

I was crying tears of pain, happiness at the same time. I just couldn’t believe my wish came true … I couldn’t believe … that little roll of film was so … important … would mean so much to me!

It truly was … an ‘oh my God’ moment.

Photos are from the film … that sat around the house all these years since the day I took photos when Taban was born … March 16, 2007.

I own these photos/story. Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

#oh my God!

#photos from the past

#grief, pain, happiness all at same time

#Granny Gee

#Gloria Faye Brown Bates

#Tommy

4 thoughts on “It Was Another … ‘Oh My God!’ … Moment!

Leave a comment