There Was One Person Left in the World … to Remember Granny Gee!


There Was One Person Left in the World … to Remember Granny Gee!

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

 

A young child saw an old woman sitting on the bench

In the park … she seemed to be in deep thought

Old woman … what are you thinking about, he asked

She turned her wrinkled face to him … focused

Her green eyes began to crinkle into the biggest smile

Lips following by widening to show she had no teeth

The young boy watched in amazement as she laughed

Her shoulders shook … she coughed several times

I was hoping someone like you would come along!

The young boy asked her why was she hoping for such!

He was afraid now … why she might try to eat him

He had read Hansel and Gretel, and the mean woman

The old woman saw fear like a dark cloud

Move across his big, brown eyes to block the light

It immediately left once she began speaking to him

Little boy, go get your mama … I have something important to say

I need to have her here because you are just a child

I have no one left in this old world … I want to give you something

I have waited each day on this bench for a young child

To pay attention to me … to notice an old woman

Everyone has forgotten about … I have something for you

Bring your mama and we’ll talk more with her here

Hurry now, I don’t have much time

I may not be here tomorrow … I need to see your mama now

The little boy turned to look for his mama

Saw her not too far away watching him

He waved for her to come … she came quickly

Mama, the old woman wants to talk to you

She turned to the old woman who seemed to be asleep

Yes, how can I help you she asked the old woman

The old woman opened her green eyes

They lit up with the most beautiful smile

Her lips followed in a toothless grin

I have something for your little boy

There’s no one else in this whole world

For me to leave it to … I’m all alone now

I may not be here tomorrow, I don’t have much time

Take this … don’t say a word, I know what I’m doing

Your little boy took time for me … it meant the world

To have someone notice me before I die

Every day I have sat here hoping … someone would see me

I thought I was invisible … until your young child came along

Oh how wonderful it felt to hear a child’s voice speak to me

I used to have a grandson once … his mama kept him from me

I had a granddaughter too … they are grown now

They never came looking for me as I hoped

That’s okay … I don’t hurt anymore from that pain

Only from the pain in this old body I’ve lived in so long

I am homeless … I am used to being that way

I’ve been for the past five years living on the street

Now … it’s time to give your young boy something

I won’t be able to ever give my grandchildren

May I pretend for a moment your child

Is my grandson … talk to him … give him something from my heart

The mama nodded her head … tears fell from her eyes

The old woman touched her heart … she felt she was going to die

She saw it in the old woman’s green, green eyes

What is your name, child?  My name is Stevie, I’m seven years old

Stevie, with your mama’s permission I want to give you something

Something to make your life, her life … much better

Would you like that? Stevie looked up at his mama

She nodded yes … he looked back at the old woman, smiled

Mama says it’s okay … what can it be?

The old woman took out a shoe box wrapped in plastic

It was taped up securely to keep out the rain

She told the little boy … this is for you and your mama

There’s ten-thousand dollars in it … it’s all I have in this world

What?  Why, didn’t I live in a house if I had so much?

I wanted to have something to be remembered by

I wanted to give it to grandchildren … they didn’t come

You are here, Stevie … for the time-being … you are my grandson

I want you to have this … now, it’s time for you to go

The mama started to object … saw something in the old woman’s eyes

The mama’s lips began to tremble … more tears came to her eyes

This old woman had made their life good … now, she was going to die

Tears came into the old woman’s eyes as she smiled her big smile

You’ve got to go now … tell no one … that’s my gift to you

For caring for me … in my last moments … go now!

As the mama, son walked off they looked back

The old woman seemed to be in deep thought

She was looking at the sunshine … the tears glistened on her face

They kept walking … didn’t look back to hear

The old woman say … I’ve been waiting for you, son

I think it’s time for me to come home now

She reached for his hand with hers … if anyone noticed

They would see an old woman reach out into thin air

Never know she was seeing her son’s hand

As she reached for his hand, the light went out of her eyes

Her hand fell gently to her lap

Head touched her chest … she seemed to be asleep

If anyone noticed her … they didn’t

She sat there another week … not in life but, in death

Someone came to take her body off

To dispose of it … hell, she had no one

She was just one of the homeless they got every day

Never knowing, caring … she used to be someone

Who had a family … had a home … a child … grandchildren

If they had known … they wouldn’t have cared

That’s the way it is … who cares about the homeless?

They went through her pockets only to find

Nothing there … the old woman had just been on time

She looked down upon her old body, smiled a young woman’s smile

She floated around in new-found freedom

Bounced around the clouds like a young child

She’d made possible a good life for a young boy

She’d whispered in his ear her name

He would always remember her as …

Granny Gee … for a few moments he was her … grandson

If one listened closely they would have heard

Happy laughter like wind chimes ringing on the air

There was one person left in the world to … remember Granny Gee!

Photos/Poem owned, written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

Artwork by Gloria Faye Brown/aka Granny Gee

Note by this author:

This is a poem that came to mind as I sat thinking of what to write.  You know how it is when one daydreams … thinks about things in their life.

This is just a reflection of some of those thoughts.  Oh … this Granny Gee doesn’t have ten-thousand dollars!  I wish!  🙂  This is just a poem!

3 thoughts on “There Was One Person Left in the World … to Remember Granny Gee!

  1. Pingback: Come, Vern … Let’s Go Home | GRANNY'S COLORFUL

Leave a comment