I’ll be Damned … So, That’s What That Was All This Time …


Photos owned by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

Skip and I are battle-worn, weary. I will be glad when we’ve … sailed these seas … by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

Skip is up, walking … he is sitting up, down.  He is a little irate … he is really … ready to come home!

This evening he will have one more procedure done.  That’s the ureteral stent to keep the ureter open … next week the big kidney stone will be broken up.  He is supposed to get to come home, afterwards.

Skip is still coughing … pneumonia.  He has been on antibiotics/IV.  His body has been through the mill with the fluid once again around his heart, pneumonia … and finding out the cause of his kidneys having problems.

He will recover from this.  I feel good about him leaving the hospital this time.  Last week, he was discharged too soon.  He never did begin getting better once he left … he only became worse.  Worse to the stage, he couldn’t function.  He slept … and he couldn’t walk … he fell twice.  He couldn’t sit up, he only fell backwards.  This time … he is so much stronger.

Skip was in fine form, yesterday.  I could see it in his face … he is wanting to come home very much.  He is fussing … now.  I smile thinking about it!

I will have surgery in April … this past summer I had to take some tests, discovered the cause of something I never knew I had for many years.  It caused much extra pain … in combination with my ‘forever’ pain.  This extra-awful pain has happened out of the blue since I was young.  

You would think … after all the CT scans, and all the other body scans I had for the years I battled cancer … it would have been mentioned.  It wasn’t.  The good thing is … I know now.  When I found out … my first thought was, ‘I’ll be damned’.

The pain has been there since I was a teenager … it’s so bad when it does happen … that if I were driving, I would have to stop.  Whatever I was doing, I had to stop … and I would literally bend over with it.  What is the pain?

I can’t believe it … hiatal hernia.  I’ll be damned … so, that’s what that was all this time!

Note by this Author:

I can only say, I will be glad when Skip and I have …. sailed these seas.  We are battle-worn, weary.  

Photos/story owned, written by Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

