Hearing With One’s Heart …


 

 

Hearing With One’s Heart …

By Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee/@GeeGranny on Twitter

 

 

I broke my kneecap, got a spiral fracture in my left leg on October 03, 2015.  December 10, 2015 … I got to take it off.

 

 

Do you care enough about people to listen … not with your ears, but with your Heart?  Do you see things though you pretend you don’t?

 

I was thinking how I do when I can see someone who needs help and doesn’t ask for it.  I walk to where I can help if someone wants me to.  I never push myself on another.  I can be there to step in to help without someone having to ask me.  If I see they don’t need me … I just pretend to be doing something else.

 

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we all did that?  Always be a helping hand close by … sort of like a guardian angel if one needs it … no one knowing unless out of the blue the … guardian angel … stepped into one’s life unexpectedly, when needed.

 

I pay attention around me though I would appear not to be noticing anything.  That’s when a lot of times I pay most attention.  I keep in mind that there are people who are like me … when they are their at their weakest … they don’t want others to know it.

 

I sense whether I would be embarassing someone or making them feel bad if I offer my help.  I go about it in a way someone can … save face.  I go about it in a way I would hope someone would help me.  I just care about how I make people feel.

 

I’m recovering from a broken kneecap, and spiral fracture of the fibula on my left leg.  For 2 1/2 months I have gotten to experience how it feels to be out … away from home … need help.  I can’t believe the pure pain of a broken kneecap, fracture of the fibula.

 

In the whole process there were less than 5 people I met who … didn’t give a damn.  They would see me on crutches … and let a door slam behind them not caring about holding it open for me.  Why I even held a door open for someone while I couldn’t walk without my crutches … it’s my nature.

 

I want you to know how grateful I was to the people who went out of their way to help me when I least expected it.  My Heart would swell with gratitude when it happened.  I was amazed … it meant the world to me.

 

I was glad to know to know that when it wasn’t me who needed help … those very people would go out of their way to help others.  Not only that … when I was able, I would be sure to, also.

 

I’m learning how to be independent of the brace I’ve been wearing all this time.  It feels wonderful to be free of it … yet, I need to get used to it.  I know I am being so careful everywhere I walk.  Even when it looks safe, I’m not taking any chances.

 

I know how it feels to be disabled …  I know how it feels to have my ability to walk once again … back.  I don’t take anything for granted.  It can surely be taken from one … be it the ability to walk, talk, do things … a loved one.  I am so fortunate … so thankful.

 

My eyes are wide open now … moreso, than ever.  When out and about, I will put myself in a position to be there for someone if they need help.  No one won’t have to ask me … I will put my hand out in a heartbeat.  I hope you will, too.  That way … we can all be … there … for someone who needs it.  We don’t have to hear all things with our ears … some things we hear are with our Hearts.  Can you hear with your Heart?

 

Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee

Note by this Author:

 

On October 03, 2015 I took a fall that broke my kneecap, fractured (spiral) the fibula in my left leg.  Just this past week the orthpaedic said I didn’t have to wear the brace.   (December 2015).

 

I have tried to learn many things during this new experience in my life.  I found out how it feels to be … handicapped … when going about daily life.

 

My ability to walk was taken away … my whole life changed drastically for 2 1/2 months.  I know that even now, I’ll never be completely over the fall … I’ll feel it at times for the rest of my life.

 

True account/photo are both written, owned by me … Gloria Faye Brown Bates/aka Granny Gee.

 

5 thoughts on “Hearing With One’s Heart …

  1. Yes, it is soooo good to be free of the brace and i am glad you are being so cautious! 🙂

    I always help others, even in little ways, and that makes me feel good! 🙂

    Love and huge squishy hugs to you, Skip and the Pups!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

  2. Pingback: Damn Rainbow! | GRANNY'S COLORFUL

Leave a comment